Summary of new F1 regs for 2014

The 2014 season will feature the biggest change in regulations in a decade, providing an extra challenge and opportunity for the teams.

With new engines seeing the light and new aerodynamic restrictions, the 2014 cars will look very different from their predecessors – outside and inside their bodywork.

The new rules in a nutshell:

New 1.6-litre, V6 power units with a single turbocharger are introduced. Kinetic energy from braking and heat from the exhausts are harvested, putting a greater emphasis on energy recovery.

• The minimum car weight increases from 642 kg to 690 kg to accommodate the new technologies.

Exhausts are now exiting from the rear of the car, preventing exhaust gases from having an aerodynamic influence.

Front wings are 100 mm narrower; rear wings are smaller, with the lower or beam rear wing now outlawed.

Nose profiles are now lower to ensure they meet with anti-side intrusion panels during potential T-boning accidents and improve the nose to wheel anti-launch capability.

• The power units are deemed to comprise six separate elements – engine (ICE), motor generator unit – kinetic (MGU-K), motor generator unit – heat (MGU-H), energy store (ES), turbocharger (TC) and control electronics (CE).

• Drivers will be allowed to use five power units throughout the season. Usage of additional ones will incur penalties, with the replacement of a complete unit warranting a pit lane start.

• Drivers will be required to use the same gearbox for six consecutive events (Saturday and Sunday sessions only). Replacements will cause a grid penalty.

Fuel limits for the race have been set to 100 kg.

• The final race of the season, the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, will award double points in both the Drivers’ and Constructors’ Championships.

• A new trophy will be awarded to the driver recording the most pole positions in the season.

• Drivers will now carry their own personal race numbers for the entirety of their F1 careers. The numbers will be also appearing on their helmets.

In-season testing returns, with four two-day tests held in the week after the Grand Prix at the same venue. Each team has to dedicate one of those test days to tyre testing on behalf of Pirelli.

• Stricter limits on the use of wind tunnels and CFD are introduced.

• A new penalty points system is introduced, forcing a driver amassing 12 points on his Super Licence to miss the following event.

• Drivers are allocated seven sets of prime tyres and five sets of option tyres for a race weekend. One set of primes is reserved for the first 30 minutes of Practice 1 before being returned to Pirelli.

• The Korean and Indian races depart from the Championship calendar. They are replaced by the returning Austrian Grand Prix and a new event in Russia.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: